Automatic course recompletion


You can set up the Recompletion for course which have to be done annually. The completion dates will be archived when they enter their Recompletion period, the course will then reset for the users, making it possible to complete again. The archived completion dates will remain visible by clicking in the icon in the course completion results. The archived completion dates can also be seen in a more detailed overview in the Recompletion report.


For example: Course recompletion is set on 1 year. User completes the course on January 16th, 2020. On January 17th, 2021, the userโ€™s completion data is deleted and the user receives a message (s) he needs to recomplete the course.


This can be used to facilitate annual re-certification. Previous completion dates remain visible in the course completion report and can be exported. Certificates that are saved on the server (certificate setting) will not be deleted and will remain visible in the profile screen and in reports.


How to enable/disable Course Recompletion

  1. Go to the course.
  2. Click on the "More" in the manage section.
  3. Click on the "Course Recompletion" in the dropdown menu.
  4. Select the "Enable recompletion" to yes/no to enable/disable recompletion.
  5. Select the wished Recompletion period.
  6. Select "Enabled Warning" to yes/no to enable/disable the Grace Period
  7. Select wished Recompletion warning period before the completion date expires.
  8. Select the Cohorts you want to enable the Recompletion for, or leave empty.
  9. Click on Save changes.


Recompletion message

  1. Go to the course.
  2. Click on the "More" in the manage section.
  3. Click on the "Course Recompletion" in the dropdown menu.
  4. Go to the Recompletion Message section.
  5. Select the "Send recompletion message" tot yes/no to enable/disable the message.
  6. Fill in the fields:
    1. Recompletion message subject : Message subject.
    2. Recompletion message body : Recompletion message.
  7. Click on Save changes.


Recompletion reminder

If you want to inform the user that the recompletion date is coming up, you can set a recompletion reminder.


For example: Course recompletion is set on 1 year. User completes the course on January 16th, 2020. The recompletion reminder is set on 50 weeks. On January 3rd, 2021, the user receives the recompletion reminder. On January 17th, 2021, the userโ€™s completion data is deleted and the user receives a message (s)he needs to recomplete the course.


  1. Go to the course.
  2. Click on the "More" in the manage section.
  3. Click on the "Course Recompletion" in the dropdown menu.
  4. Go to the Recompletion reminder section.
  5. Select the "Recompletion reminder" tot yes/no to enable/disable the reminder.
  6. Fill in the fields:
    1. Recompletion reminder message subject: Reminder subject.
    2. Recompletion reminder message body: Reminder message.
  7. Click on Save changes.

To be able to set up recompletion make sure you have set up your course completion criteria correctly.


History of completion

When automatic Recompletion is activated in a course, you can find the history of completion in the course completion report. In the last column of the course completion report, you will find an icon that shows the previous completion dates. You can also find these completion dates when downloading the report.