Face to Face Activity

The Face to Face activity gives you a simple and easy tool to register classroom training attendance with a waiting list and automated messaging.


Usage example

You want to schedule a classroom training for next month with a waiting list. You create a course and add the Face-to-Face activity.  After the toolbox training took place, you mark the users that attended the offline training. 


How to add and setup 

  1. Go to your course.
  2. Click on "Edit Content" and click on the plus icon in the section where you want to add the activity.
  3. Search for the Face-to-Face activity and click on it.
  4. Fill in the required fields:
    1. Name: The title of the offline training event.
    2. Third-party email address(es): The date the offline training event will take place. This date will appear in the enrolled users calendars.
    3. Sessions displayed on course page:
    4. Allow sign-up cancellations default: If checked, the default setting, when creating new sessions for this activity, will be to allow sign-up cancellations

Description

  1.  Description: The description of the face-to-face activity.


Calendar options

  1. Calendar display settings: Select an option from the dropdown menu
  2. Show entry on user's calendar: When active, this setting adds a User Event entry to the calendar of an attendee of a Face-to-Face session. When turned off, this prevents a duplicate event appearing in a session attendee's calendar, where you have calendar display settings set to Course or Site.
  3. Short name: Short name of the face-to-face activity.


Request message

When Approval required is enabled, the Request message section is available.


The Request message section displays the notices sent to the learner and their manager regarding the approval process for the learner to attend the Face-to-Face session.


  1. Subject: is the subject line that appears on the request approval emails sent to the manager and the learner.
  2. Message: is the email text sent to the learner advising them that their request to attend the Face-to-Face session has been sent to their manager for approval.
  3. Notice for manager: is the email text sent to the learner's manager requesting approval to attend the Face-to-Face session.


Confirmation message

This message is sent out whenever users sign up for a session.


  1. Subject: Is the subject line that appears on the emails sent to the users.
  2. Message: is an email message sent to the users as a conformation that they have successfully booked the course.
  3. Notice for manager: When "Send notice to manager" is checked, a confirmation email will be sent to the learner's manager when the learner signs up for a Face-to-Face session.


Reminder message

This message is sent out a few days before a session's start date as a reminder.


  1. Subject: Is the subject line that appears on the emails sent to the users.
  2. Message: is an email message sent to the users as a reminder that they have a course in a few days.
  3. Notice for manager: When "Send notice to manager" is checked, a confirmation email will be sent to the learner's manager when the learner signs up for a Face-to-Face session.


Wait-listed message

This message is sent out whenever users sign-up for a wait-listed session.

  1. Subject: Is the subject line that appears on the emails sent to the users.
  2. Message: is an email message sent to the users to inform that they have been added to the waiting list.


Cancellation message

This message is sent out whenever users cancel their booking for a session.


  1. Subject: Is the subject line that appears on the emails sent to the users.
  2. Message: is an email message sent to the users to inform that the Face-to-Face booking has been cancelled.
  3. Notice for manager: When "Send notice to manager" is checked, an email will be sent to the learner's manager advising them that the Face-to-Face booking has been cancelled.


Restrict access

  1. In the “Restrict access” section, click on the “Add restriction” button. A popup will appear. Here you can select a restriction
    • Cohort: Allow only students who belong to a specified cohort.
    • Activity completion: Require users to complete (or not complete) another activity.
    • Course completed: Allow only users who already (or not yet) completed this course.
    • Date: Prevent access until (or from) a specified date and time.
    • Grade: Require students to achieve a specified grade.
    • Profile field: Access based on a profile field.
    • Set of restrictions: Add a set of nested restrictions to apply complex logic.

Tips

  • You can combine multiple restrictions.
  • You hide/show the activities with a restriction on the course content page by pressing the eye icon before each restriction


Completion settings of Activity

  1. On this screen select the course completion criteria. Most used is the activity completion. Here you can select the activities that will count to complete the course.
  2. When all selected activities are completed, the course will mark as completed.
  3. Save and display.